How it All Began…

Before my son was even born, my wife and I started collecting books to read to him.  We bought all the classics we could find – books like Curious George, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, Corduroy, Stone Soup, Clifford the Big Red Dog, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, tons of Dr. Seuss books, and way to many more to name them all!

By the time Michael Jr. was born in September 2011, we had already filled an entire bookshelf (and bought a second for the overflow).  We realized quickly that we had very few toys for our little guy, but we were confident we had plenty of books!

Fast-forward a year and a half…  Michael Jr. (A.K.A. Bubba) is almost 18 months old and loves his books!  When my wife is getting ready for work in the morning, he sits in his crib with a stack of board books and quietly flips through them page by page.  He spends most of his weekdays at my parent’s house, and he absolutely loves to sit in his grandma’s lap and listen to her read.  When I bring him home after work, he runs to his pile of books, picks one out, brings it back to me, sits in my lap, and won’t leave until I’ve read it to him.  Once I’ve read it, he gets up, picks out another book, and repeats the process until we’ve read every book in the pile.

photo-13

Needless to say, I couldn’t be happier with his love of books!  Well, that’s not entirely true.  All those books my wife and I bought before he was born are now being read a 3rd, 4th or 5th time (or in the case of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom and The Very Hungry Caterpillar, it’s probably close to the 95th time).  I love reading to Bubba, but I’m getting tired of reading the same books over and over.

Luckily, there is a great little branch library just two blocks from our home!  I’ve used this library from time to time to get books for my classroom or to take Bubba to “Story Time,” but if I’m being completely honest, I haven’t really taken full advantage of this library since we moved to the neighborhood three years ago.  All that is about to change, though.

The reason I’ve started this blog is because I’ve decided that Bubba and I are going to read EVERY picture book in the entire library.  I’m not sure how long it will take (or if it can even be done), but that’s my goal – my mission.

As Bubba and I set out on this journey, I will write all about our experiences.  I’ll keep a list of all the book titles & authors that we read, and I’ll even comment on how both Michaels like each book.  I’ll also try to add some pictures and videos whenever possible to keep things interesting (for whoever decides to join us on our journey).

In the end though, this blog is really about sharing a unique experience with my son.  Some day, we will hopefully be able to look back on this experience and say: “Remember when we read EVERY picture book in that library?!”

2 Comments

Filed under Reading the Library, Special Stuff

2 responses to “How it All Began…

  1. Cool and good luck. That’s a fantastic adventure ahead for you and him, and the library.
    Kevin

  2. Grandma Carton

    This blog is awesome (and now I finally know what a blog is…haha). I love reading to him (so does Grandpa). In fact, we have just gotten some books at the Tucsan Book/Author Festival and can’t wait to read them to him. Great-Grammie still is amazed with all the books your students gave to you when Mikey was born, so that child is definitely not lacking reading material. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

