Bubba’s Decision

Bubba and I are almost a week into our journey, and we have already read more than 50 books together… Well, that’s not exactly accurate.  I guess I should take a step back and say that Bubba has decided that reading only library books is NOT an option. He made this decision pretty clear earlier in the week – after we had only read about 5 books!

I think he was beginning to have some withdrawal symptoms from not hearing is favorite stories!  It was like he was on his own little mission – a mission to listen to a book that HE picked out!  In this case, it was The Very Hungry Caterpillar.  I tried to read him a new library book, but he would push the book away and shove HIS book into my chest to get me to read it to him.  After trying a couple times to get him interested in the library book, I finally gave up and read Bubba his book.

Of course, this opened the floodgate and we are now reading his favorite books along with our library books each day!  I think I’ve counted 8 readings of both The Very Hungry Caterpillar and My Precious Little Bear, 5 readings of The Snowy Day, 7 readings of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, 3 or 4 readings of Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?, and 5 readings of Melissa Everett’s Baa, Baa, Black Sheep.

A stack of some of Bubba's favorite books

A stack of some of Bubba’s favorite books

Luckily, I’ve been on break and I’ve been able to read to him as much as he wants.  Next week I go back to work, so we’ll have to wait and see how many library (and “Bubba Favorite”) books we can get through when teaching takes up the majority of my day!

3 Comments

Filed under Great Books, Lots of Laughs, Reading the Library, Updates

3 responses to “Bubba’s Decision

  1. Lynn Spady

    We love Chicka Chicka Boom Boom at our house too! In fact, this video shows the only way in which we can read the book now: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbHjMMJ69Eg

  2. Shana Owen

    Love that you are a dedicated teacher and father!

Leave a Reply

