The Downside of Reading So Much

There are many reasons why attempting to read every picture book (in our branch library) to my son is a positive experience, but there are a few downsides.  One of the biggest problems I’ve encountered is that I have less time to read books for myself!

I’ve got a stack of books waiting to be read (including Dan Brown’s latest, Kristin Levine’s The Lions of Little Rock, professional teaching books, etc.) that have been gathering dust for quite some time!

Maybe it’s because I always seem to have yard work and special projects to do around the house, or maybe because a teacher’s job is never done (especially if you need to move from one classroom to another). Whatever the case may be, I seem to have very little time to read books for myself lately.

At this point last summer, I had read somewhere between 15 and 20 novels, but this summer I’ve read a grand total of ZERO!  This is going to change, though… even if it means saying up later or getting up earlier – I WILL knock the dust off MY books and start shrinking the pile!

2 Comments

Filed under Reading the Library

2 responses to “The Downside of Reading So Much

  1. The Loins of Little Rock is great!

    I started just reading one chapter each night before falling a sleep. It got me hooked on my own reading again. It is important to read and share with your students so they see you as an adult reader as well.

    Good Luck!

  2. I can imagine how hard this can be, but at the same time, the reward of reading to/with your son is so worth it! You can always read when your son graduates and moves out.;0)
    Until then, good luck sneaking in those little adult reading moments!

Leave a Reply

