Guys Read

One of the main reasons I’m trying to read every book in the library to Bubba is because I want him to see how much I love reading, and I want him to share that love of reading.  I want Bubba to know that reading’s not girly – that boy’s read, too.

Obviously, I want to do the same thing for the boys in my class, so I’ve recruited another male teacher in my building and we’re going to start a Guys Read club this quarter.

This past summer, a colleague introduced me to Guys Read (which is a literacy program for boys founded by author and First National Ambassador of Young People’s Literature, Jon Scieszka).  Guys Read’s mission is to help boys become self-motivated, lifelong readers, so I’m really excited about getting a club started at my school.

Does anyone have experience with Guys Read (or have any good ideas for my Guys Read Club of 1st-3rd graders)?  I’d love to hear your ideas!

1 Comment

Filed under Classroom Connections

One response to “Guys Read

  1. Pingback: My Guys Read Club Made Me An Armed Robbery Suspect | Michaels Read

Leave a comment