Is It Normal to Know Your Library Card Number By Heart?

Here’s an interesting fact about me: I never lose or misplace anything!  Seriously… just ask my wife!  Wait, maybe you better not!

I seem to be losing/misplacing things a lot lately… so when I couldn’t find my wallet the other day, I was more than a little concerned!

I’d had my wallet at a restaurant on Saturday evening, but on Sunday morning I couldn’t find it anywhere!

Unfortunately, the restaurant that we had dinner at was closed on Sunday, so I spent the entire day searching the house and thinking about all the things I would need to do if my wallet wasn’t at the restaurant when I called on Monday morning.

Like most people, I thought about how I would need to cancel my credit and debit cards and get a new driver’s license (and I really liked the picture on my license!)…

I love this picture, but my wife has never been a big fan of it!

I love this picture, but my wife has never been a big fan of it!

but the first thing I thought about when I thought I might have lost everything was replacing my library card!

That’s right, the first thing I thought about was replacing my library card!

library card

To be more precise, I thought about how I would need to learn a new library card number if I had to replace it.  Is that normal?  Does anybody else know their library card number by heart?  I can’t be the only person, right?!

Luckily, my wallet was still there when I called the restaurant the next day so I didn’t need to get a new library card (or driver’s license)…  Disaster averted!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Is It Normal to Know Your Library Card Number By Heart?

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever had my library card number close to memorized. Sorry.

  2. I totally would if it weren’t so dang long. Thank goodness for those little plastic rewards cards thingies and also the rewards program apps on my phone . . .

  3. I definitely have mine memorized, and I’d be annoyed if I had to replace it!

  4. Phew! Glad you found it. I had to get a new library card this year – had the same # for 15 years & knew the number, but lost the card. I keep forgetting new # when using Overdrive & it is driving me nuts

  5. Cyndy

    Sadly, I too know my library card number by heart… as well as my EX-husband’s social security number and we’ve been divorced for 23 years! I suppose that info will remain embedded until those brain cells are required for storage of more important data. 🙂
    So glad you found your wallet!

  6. I also know my library card number by heart because I use it to check out a ton of e-books and audiobooks in my library system’s OverDrive collection. It’s not weird at all. I’m asked to use my library card number a lot more than I am asked for my driver’s license number, for example (that’s like once a year when I do my taxes).

Leave a Reply

