A Less-Than-Desirable Punishment

I’ve heard the “Terrible Two’s” are nothing compared to the “Terrible Three’s,” and Bubba just turned three… so he must be in the “Terrible” sweet spot right now. Now don’t get me wrong, he’s a great kid most of the time, but when he gets mad, he definitely lets you (and everyone near you) know about it!

 

Bubba knows there will always be a consequence when he behaves badly, though. Most of the time, he gets a time out… but when he’s really misbehaving before bedtime, he gets one of his favorite things taken away – he loses his read aloud time.

 

I really hate it when he loses his read aloud time, because I enjoy reading to him just as much as he enjoys being read to… but just the threat of not reading a book before bed will usually cause him to start behaving again!

 

Part of me thinks I shouldn’t use this as a punishment (because I don’t want him to have any negative feelings associated with reading), but the other part of me can’t help but notice how effective it is.

 

If it’s so effective, can it really be that bad? I don’t do it often, but I still worry that it’s not be the best “punishment.”

 

What do you think? Let me know your thoughts!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading the Library, Tips

Leave a Reply

